Tips for Graduate Students

college
tips for graduate students

The Blog formerly knowns as................ BLACKWATER DRAW LOCALITY 1

(Not my original work: from Southern Fried Science)

10 Tips for grad students to make the most of a scientific conference

By David Shiffman, on August 21st, 2013

I just returned from the Society for Conservation Biology’s International Congress for Conservation Biology. It was a great meeting, and I learned a lot. It also marked a milestone for me, as although I am just starting the 3rd year of my Ph.D.,  the ICCB was the 20th scientific conference I’ve attended. Inspired by this milestone, by Josh Drew’s recent post on the subject, and by the excellent graduate student networking workshop held at the ICCB, I wanted to share my tips and tricks for graduate students to get the most out of a conference

Please note that while these tips have served me well and are generally applicable to professional meetings in the sciences, they may not be appropriate…

View original post 48 more words

Leave a Reply

